top of page

UK Immigration News Alert - 9 October 2021

UK Travel Update - Significant reduction of the UK's red list

In very welcome news the number of countries on the UK's travel red list will be cut from 54 to 7 as of 4am Monday 11 October 2021.

The countries coming off the red list are:

Afghanistan, Angola, Argentina, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, Congo (Democratic Republic), Costa Rica, Cuba. Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Georgia, Guyana, Indonesia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mayotte, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Paraguay, Philippines, Réunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Suriname, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda, Uruguay, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The 7 countries remaining on the red list are:

  • Colombia

  • Peru

  • Ecuador

  • Panama

  • Haiti

  • Venezuela

  • The Dominican Republic

Vaccinated travellers from Brazil, Hong Kong, India, Pakistan, South Africa and Turkey will be treated the same as returning fully-vaccinated UK residents provided they have not visited a red-list country in the 10 days before arriving in England.

Additionally arrivals from 37 more destinations will have their vaccination status certificates recognised, meaning they can avoid more expensive post-arrival testing requirements.

All arrivals will still complete a passenger locator form.

The full list and requirements can be found on the website:

25 views0 comments


bottom of page