top of page

UK Immigration News Alert – 12 February 2021

UK Lockdown – Travel Update

The UK government has announced further action for outbound and inbound passengers to minimise travel across international borders and reduce the risk of Covid-19 transmission.

For those travelling into the UK:

  • managed isolation in hotels: this will be for British nationals, Irish nationals and UK residents arriving on or after 15 February 2021 from ‘red list’ countries where the UK government has imposed international travel bans (list below) - they will be required to isolate, at their own personal cost (£1,750 per adult, £650 for each additional adult/child over 12 plus £325 for a child aged 5 - 12 years), for 10 days without exception (for instance they will not have the option to reduce their isolation period with a negative COVID test) - for more detailed and up-to-date guidance, please head to:

  • refusing entry: non-British or Irish passengers who have been in or transited through red list countries in the last 10 days will no longer be granted access to the UK

  • entering the UK: passengers arriving in the UK need to provide evidence of a negative pre-departure Covid test - there is also the requirement for people arriving from abroad to self-isolate on arrival, and the requirement to complete a passenger locator form, with fines for those who fail to comply

  • exemptions: any travel exemptions usually in place, including for business travel, will not apply

  • police checks: police are carrying out more physical checks at addresses to make sure people are self-isolating

For those travelling out of the UK

  • declaring reason for travel: anyone who does not have a valid reason for travel will be directed to return home and may face a fine - the reason for travel will be checked

  • increased police enforcement: there will be an increased police presence at ports and airports, fining those in breach of the stay at home regulations - anyone without valid reason for travel will be directed to return home and may face a fine

  • reviewing travel exemptions: the list of travel exemptions will be urgently reviewed so that only the most important and exceptional reasons are included

Red List Countries

  • Angola

  • Argentina

  • Bolivia

  • Botswana

  • Brazil

  • Burundi

  • Cape Verde

  • Chile

  • Colombia

  • Democratic Republic of the Congo

  • Ecuador

  • Eswatini

  • French Guiana

  • Guyana

  • Lesotho

  • Malawi

  • Mauritius

  • Mozambique

  • Namibia

  • Panama

  • Paraguay

  • Peru

  • Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores)

  • Rwanda

  • Seychelles

  • South Africa

  • Suriname

  • Tanzania

  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)

  • Uruguay

  • Venezuela

  • Zambia

  • Zimbabwe

For further guidance on any travel you wish to make please contact your GDB Legal Solutions consultant.

21 views0 comments


bottom of page